Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Billie Jean King, Village People, Wham!, George Michael, Tom Hanks, Bruce Springstein, Equal Rights Marchers, & David Furnish: Philadelphia Freedom!

“. . . and other love stories” 

“Philadelphia Freedom” is a song released by Elton John (as “The Elton John Band”) as a single in 1975.  The song was one of John’s numerous number-one U.S. hit singles during the early and mid-1970s, which saw his recordings dominating the charts.  The song was written by Elton John and Bernie Taupin as a favor to Elton’s friend, tennis star Billie Jean King.  King was part of the Philadelphia Freedoms tennis team. 

Philadelphia Freedom on Wikipedia

1-elton-john-philadelphia-freedom.jpg

2-176.jpg

“Philadelphia Freedom” Lyrics:

I used to be a rolling stone you know
If a cause was right I’d leave to find the answer on the road
I used to be a heart beating for someone, but the times have changed
The less I say, the more my work gets done

3-eltonjohn.jpg

`Cause I live and breathe this Philadelphia freedom
From the day that I was born I’ve waved the flag
Philadelphia freedom took me knee-high to a man
Gave me peace of mind my daddy never had

4-village-people.jpg

5-village_people_cowboy_george_bush.jpg

Oh Philadelphia freedom shine on me, I love you
Shine a light through the eyes of the ones left behind
Shine the light, shine the light
Shine the light, won’t you shine the light?
Philadelphia freedom I love you, yes I do

6-elton-john-george-michael.jpg

7-wham-george-michael.jpg8-wham-george-michael.jpg

9-wham-george-michael.jpg91-wham-george-michael.jpg

92-wham-george-michael.jpg

Wham!’s  Freedom!

Freedom, Wham! song on Wikipedia

93-wham-george-michael.jpg

94-george-michael.jpg

If you choose to you can live your life alone
Some people choose the city
Some others choose the good old family home
I like living easy without family ties
‘Til the whippoorwill of freedom zapped me
Right between the eyes

95-george-michael-faith-2.jpg

96-george-michael.jpg

97-george-michael.jpg98-george-michael.jpg

99-george-michael-freedom-90.jpg

George Michael’s  Freedom! ’90

Freedom! ’90, George Michael song on Wikipedia

99a-george-michael-freedom-90.jpg

99b-george-michael-freedom-90.jpg

99c-tom-hanks-philadelphia.jpg

99g-streets-of-philadelphia-springstein-2.jpg

99d-tom-hanks-philadelphia.jpg99e-tom-hanks-philadelphia.jpg99f-tom-hanks-philadelphia.jpg

`Cause I live and breathe this Philadelphia freedom
From the day that I was born I’ve waved the flag
Philadelphia freedom took me knee-high to a man
Gave me peace of mind my daddy never had

99h-gay-rights-march-2.jpg

Oh Philadelphia freedom shine on me, I love you
Shine a light through the eyes of the ones left behind
Shine the light, shine the light

Shine the light, won’t you shine the light?
Philadelphia freedom I love you, yes I do

99i-gay-rights-march.jpg99j-gay-rights-march.jpg99k-gay-rights-march.jpg

Oh Philadelphia freedom shine on me, I love you
Shine a light through the eyes of the ones left behind
Shine the light, shine the light
Shine the light, won’t you shine the light?
Philadelphia freedom I love you, yes I do

99l-elton-john-wedding_day7.jpg99m-elton_john_brudebilde.jpg99n-elton_david.jpg

Philadelphia freedom, don’tcha know that I love ya, yes I do!
Philadelphia freedom, don’tcha know that I love ya, yes I do!

99o-wedding1.jpg

Philadelphia freedom, don’tcha know that I love ya, yes I do!
Philadelphia freedom, don’tcha know that I love ya, yes I do! 

© All rights reserved by the respective artists.

Elton John on Wikipedia

- –

The article you’re reading is a post on ”Sexuality & Love in the Arts,” a popular blog and searchable resource of insightful artworks discussing sexuality, creativity, and love in the arts.  Here, you can search from hundreds of artists’ works from over hundreds of years.  The tabs atop each page connect to the word index and thumbnail image indices.  There are new posts every Monday through Friday.  You can follow by email, RSS, Twitter or Facebook

- -

Most Recent Artworks   Index of all the Artists’ Artworks   my43things